Our People

Principal's Welcome

I'm excited to be Principal of Waitaki Valley School. Our school has a lot to be proud of. We have a very supportive community, who work to ensure that we are well resourced, we have wonderful staff who work hard to ensure our programmes are best we can provide, meeting the variety of needs of our children.

We believe that educating children is a partnership. Our teachers actively involve parents and have open and regular contact with them. We welcome parent involvement in activities within our school.

Most importantly we have great tamariki who love learning and make the most of the opportunities that come their way.

Nau mai, Haere mai, welcome.

Jane Severinsen


Teina Hub Teachers: Donna Coleman-Smith (Hub Leader and SENCO) Yr 0-1 Aoraki Class

Scott Rawson Yr 1-2 Hauwhenua Class

Deahna Shearer Yr 2-4 Moana Class

Tuakana Hub Teachers: Pip Jepson (Deputy Principal and Hub leader) Yr 7-8 Mahutonga Class

Natalie Aarts Yr 5-6 Pukepuke Class

Office Administrator: Hayley Smith

Teina Learning Assistants: Kelly Chilton, Caitlin Brown

Tuakana Learning Assistants: Melanie Milne, Liesel Herbst

Librarian: Ella McKelvey

Cleaner: Leanne Sandri

Caretaker: Michael Smith